insecure-writers-support-group-badge

The Purpose of IWSG is to share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

To join IWSG visit Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh here.

_________________________

 

DECEMBER QUESTION: In terms of your writing career, where do you see yourself five years from now, and what’s your plan to get there?

 

I’ll get to my answer in a moment but first a reminder.

There are a lot of us feeling overwhelmed right now, disconnected, disempowered, confused, scared about the future. Regardless of the reason—be it the recent election, that mess of a manuscript coming off NaNo, even looming holiday stress, this is an unsettled time. We all understand uncertainty leads to fears and doubts that impact our writing.

Never forget that how you respond to insecurity is within your control. This is personal sovereignty. Own it. Find the source of power within yourself and bring it to the forefront. If you are apprehensive, afraid, or angered by something, it means you feel deeply. Let those emotions lead you forward both in your life and in your writing.

Apathy is your enemy. It will separate you from your seat of power. Don’t ever give up the privilege of self-rule.

I know as individuals we often feel small and insignificant in the grand scheme. Particularly given some of what’s happening in our world today, it’s difficult to feel powerful. But as writers you have the potential to touch many hearts and minds.

Kennysarmy/flickrcc

Kennysarmy/flickrcc

“I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a
stone across the waters to create many ripples.
—Mother Theresa

Be mindful and brave. Let your emotions guide your responses during insecure times. Be a stone. Create a ripple.

Which brings me to the question I opened with. Where do I see myself in five years? Hopefully writing stories that shed light on themes that are important to me: our strength lies in our differences; it’s not what you believe, but how you exercise those beliefs that matters; our imperfections are what makes us human; we can’t run from who we are. While I would love to make a living from my writing, I’m not sure that’s a realistic goal. If I can tell a story, touch people, open their minds a little, then I’ll consider those five years well spent.

 

______________________

This will be my last post of 2016. I’ll be back Monday, January 4 for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group.

..

U n t i l  T h e n…

peace-on-earth

Blessed Solstice!

Happy Hanukkah!

Merry Christmas!

Happy Kwanzaa!

 

Wishing you and your loved ones
a happy, healthy, peaceful, & prosperous NEW YEAR!

.

.

.

.

.

