Behind Closed DoorsBehind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

What if the perfect couple aren’t as perfect as they seem? After all, an outsider can never truly know what goes on inside of a marriage. Therein lies the premise of B.A. Paris’s Behind Closed Doors.

Riveting storytelling and a compelling—albeit sanitized—plot, kept me reading. That I found the story thoroughly implausible and heroine Grace a cowardly weakling did little to blunt my enjoyment of this well told story. Sometimes a solidly written, compulsive page-turner is exactly what the doctor ordered.

Don’t be misled. This is not a psychological thriller. There are no emotional uncertainties or narrative twists to unsettle the reader. Behind Closed Doors is a straight up domestic thriller with an engrossing but linear plot. This is not meant as a criticism but as a warning to readers in search of another Gone Girl or Girl on the Train. You won’t find it here. But a quick, compelling read? Absolutely.

Recommended.

Thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press
for the opportunity to read and review this title.

 


Redemption RoadRedemption Road by John Hart

I’ll start with three confessions. One, I’m an avid John Hart fan. Two, I love Southern Gothic. Third, I’ve grown accustomed to having a lukewarm response to books other readers seem to love. Alas, this is the case with Redemption Road.

Here, troubled police detective Elizabeth Black faces possible criminal charges for the overkill of two rapists. Even as her former crush, one-time cop and now convicted murderer, Adrian Wall, is being paroled from prison. When their downtrodden North Carolina town explodes in violence and corruption, story ensues.

Whodunits aren’t my favorite flavor of mystery, but if the surrounding story is solid, I’m more than willing to go along for the ride. Sadly, Redemption Road has a lot of speed bumps. Its predictability, warmed over mystery tropes, and stereotypical characters (The selfless, damaged heroine with nerves of steel and a soft heart; the wise, genteel Southern attorney; the wrongfully convicted man of honor on a quest for justice) left me indifferent.

I’m glad others loved the book. I wish I could say the same. I’m giving three stars rather than two because Hart is a terrific writer, and we need his talent. While I can’t offer a strong recommendation for Redemption Road, I can and do recommend John Hart. His books, Iron House, The Last Child, & Down River are all spectacular.

Thanks to NetGalley and Thomas Dunne Books for the
opportunity to read and review this title.

 

 

Be sure and stop by Thursday when Mark Noce will be here to introduce his soon-to be released debut novel:
BETWEEN TWO FIRES

.
 

 

