“She had always wanted words, she loved them;
grew up on them. Words gave her
clarity, brought reason, shape.”
Michael Ondaatje



Since I started posting less frequently, I’ve noticed my posts trending toward the negative. This is wrong on many levels because I love to write, and I’m so very grateful to be able to follow my passion. Every worthwhile pursuit has drawbacks, and writing is no different. If it were easy, everyone would do it.

When it comes to writing, I’m neither a glass half-empty or glass half-full person because neither matters. The important thing is the glass is refillable, and my pitcher is brimming with words.

 

WHAT I LOVE ABOUT WRITING

✒︎ I love creating something from nothing.

✒︎ I love research, and the rush of discovery. I live where I live because I came to research a book and fell in love with the place. Astounding when you think about it.

The end of my block. ❤️

The end of my street. ♥︎

✒︎ While I’m a control freak, I can’t control the writing process. Love that! It challenges who I am on a fundamental level. My process for writing long fiction is different with each book. I never know what to expect. With my current novel, I’m editing toward the middle. In other words, I edit the first and last chapter, then the second and the second to last chapter, etc. It’s an extraordinary way to get achieve consistency in character voice.

✒︎ I love it when I’m standing in the shower or lying in bed ready to drift of to sleep and my mind lands on a character’s unique gesture, word, or thought, and I instinctively know the exact moment it fits into a scene—even if that scene happened ten chapters ago.

✒︎ I love when my characters shock and when my endings surprise me—which is often.

✒︎ I love editing. Words and first drafts are no more than clay to be molded into a one-of-a-kind work of art. Editing is everything.

✒︎ I love that another writer can have an identical plot but their story will never ever be the same as mine. Writing is breathing life into a work that belongs to me alone.

✒︎ I love when I’m inspired by another writer’s work. Jealous? Hell, yeah (See The Gargoyle – IWSG: Writer’s Envy), but reading great work makes me a better writer.

✒︎ I love the joy of reading something I wrote a year ago and realizing it doesn’t suck nearly as bad as I thought.

✒︎ I love to write.

 

Joyce C/Flickrcc

Joyce C/Flickrcc

 

WHAT DO YOU LOVE?
(Doesn’t need to be writing)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

