InsecureWritersSupportGroup-1

The Purpose of IWSG is to share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

To join IWSG visit Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh here.

_________________________

 

Insecurity thy name is writer.

Last week, I finally completed a draft of my manuscript. The novel is contemporary fiction set in New England. Below are the three major insecurities I tallied by the time I’d reached The End.

  • The title was wrong. I now have a new, more evocative title (which I’m not ready to share).
  • At 101k words, the manuscript is too long. I’m good at killing my darlings, and I will get it down to around 90k.
  • Like my other novels, the manuscript involves two POVs. In this case, a man and woman, both written in limited 3rd person. The book was near completion when I realized the male character—my primary protagonist—wasn’t holding up his end, and the woman was driving the plot. It was clear that to tell this story, I needed to move her to the forefront and shift her POV from 3rd to 1st person.

FYI, going from 1st person to 3rd person is a cinch. Going from 3rd to 1st is not.

Moreover, this is not a character I would choose to carry a story. She has a violent past and lives on the fringe. She has no friends, no family. She calls herself a witch, but she’s a 21st century practicing pagan, and her perceptions of good & evil don’t flow with the mainstream. She  has no supernatural powers, nor does she have anything in common with the ubiquitous fluffy witches who bake, knit, keep shop, or tell fortunes in light-hearted cozies and paranormals.

The result? A great many readers will have trouble relating to her. I’m aware  it’s up to me to create empathy for the character, or at the very least make her interesting enough readers won’t turn away, but all I can say is…

Insecurity Overload!

Insecurity Overload!

Insecurity Overload! 

IWSG

 

Have you ever gone from 3rd to 1st person POV?

Care to share your experience?

Insecurity loves company.

 
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

