InsecureWritersSupportGroup-1

The Purpose of IWSG is to share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

To join IWSG visit Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh here.

_________________________

 

Ever find yourself stymied when facing the blank page? Stuck, unable to make progress—dare I say it—blocked?

The answer? Look inward.

Identify what galvanizes your creative juices. Tuck that bit of knowledge away in a safe place. When necessary, draw from the well and be inspired.

Let me guess. You’re thinking that’s not as easy as I make it sound. After all, we’re not all inspired by the same things, right?

photosteve101/flickercc

photosteve101/flickercc

Words are my inspiration. Not just any old words, but words that evoke images, words that touch my senses.

Another writer’s words begetting my words may sound circular, but I assure you, it’s a fact. A single verb used in a unique, expressive way can spark my imagination and send me to the keyboard in a creative fury.

“A leaf blows along the path.” Eh, So what?

But if that same leaf were to cartwheel along the path, suddenly I see the keen edge on which it spins. I hear its faint, hollow scrape against the dirt. I smell autumn in the air.

“A gate swings open.” Snore.

But if that gate stutters open? I hear the jerky movement, feel the ground’s vibration, sense the tension on the hinge.

When I need inspiration, I read writers whose leaves flutter, drift, float, glide, whirl, and waft. They cartwheel. These writers are my well of inspiration. They probably aren’t your well, but believe me, your well is out there. The key is to find it.

pee vee/flickrcc

pee vee/flickrcc

Search! Think back to what brought you to writing in the first place. Experiment. Try new things, revisit old. Listen to music. Spend time in nature. Exercise. Watch a play or film. Go to the mall. Read great literature and aspire. Read crap literature and revel in the certainty you can do better. Persevere until you find and capture what spurs your creativity.

Inspiration is shy. Don’t wait for it to come to you. Hunt it down like a wild, untamed beast. Because honestly, it kind of is.

.

What inspires you?

.

.

.

.

