Haven’t done a photo post in a while, so here goes!

[Please note: all photos were taken BEFORE yesterday’s blizzard, so add another 17-inches to the snowpack.]

Last year was my first Massachusetts winter. I loved it. I even blogged about it here. There were several snow “events” spread throughout the season, and it was a beautiful time.

This year has been quite different. Until the end of January, winter 2015 was barely a blip on the radar, day after day of clear skies and plenty of sunshine—if not warm temperatures. Then three weeks ago, Snowmageddon 2015 arrived.

Historic amounts of snow. Records were broken. Antiquated public transportation was brought to its knees. Schools and businesses were shut tight, roads and walkways impassable, roofs collapsed, and trucks ran all night hauling snow away only to make room for more. Finally, the National Guard was brought in to help with removal.

These last few weeks have been a learning experience. Did you know snow blowers are near-useless if there’s nowhere for the snow to go?

Although I wasn’t able to achieve the exact same perspective as last year because of the mountain of snow I currently have in my yard, this should give you an idea of the difference between 2014 and 2015.

1 foot of snow

One foot of snow, Winter 2014

Six feet of snow, Winter 2015

Six feet of snow, Winter 2015

HERE’S ANOTHER VIEW OF MY SIDE YARD

Side Yard, February 2015

AND A FEW OTHER SHOTS FROM AROUND AND ABOUT:

My Back Porch

My Back Porch

Snow Eating the House Across the Street

Snow Eating the Building Across the Street

Salem Harbor

 

Salem Maritime National Historic Site

 

It’s a lot of snow, but I have nowhere to be. I don’t have a car, so there’s no need to dig out. And I have power, which means I have heat. The simple truth? I love winter!

 

So, how’s winter 2015 treating you?
Ready for spring?

 

.

.

.

.

.

All images Copyright © 2014-2015 VR Barkowski. All rights reserved.
.
.
