On August 23, we lost one of our own. Like many of you, I had the pleasure of meeting Tina Downey through the A-to-Z Challenge. Tina’s positive spirit and unwavering support made her not only a force to be reckoned with, but a shining light in the sometimes dark, cold world of blogging.

Today we remember Tina with a Sunflower** Tribute, to honor and thank this amazing woman for her many kindnesses, her unflagging support, her humor, but most of all for never letting us forget that Life is Good.

Tina, it was a genuine privilege. You will be greatly missed.

 

P1030060

🌻

With you a part of me hath passed away;
For in the peopled forest of my mind
A tree made leafless by this wintry wind
Shall never don again its green array.
Chapel and fireside, country road and bay,
Have something of their friendliness resigned;
Another, if I would, I could not find,
And I am grown much older in a day.
But yet I treasure in my memory
Your gift of charity, and young hearts ease,
And the dear honour of your amity;
For these once mine, my life is rich with these.
And I scarce know which part may greater be,–
What I keep of you, or you rob from me.
-George Santayana

🌻

P1030061

 

🌻🌻🌻 🌻🌻🌻

ANNOUNCEMENT!

 

conf

SCHOLARSHIP OPPORTUNITY!

.

WRITER UNBOXED UN-CONFERENCE: “Part symposium. Part networking affair. Part workshop. Part retreat.”

If you’ve been yearning to attend the Un-Conference on Boston’s North Shore but don’t have the bank, Two scholarships are now available

Explain in 300-words or less why you’d like to attend. Send your essay with the subject line “Writer Unboxed Scholarship” to writerunboxed by September 12th.

For more information about the scholarships, go here.
For details about the conference, click here.

 

 

That’s it for Monday.
Go out and make it a week worth writing about!

.

 

** I believe these are brown-eyed susans and not sunflowers. I don’t own a car, live anywhere near a garden center, or have a yard of my own to plant a flower. After walking the neighborhood in a vain search for the elusive sunflower, I spotted these outside my living room window. Perfect. Maybe they aren’t quite sunflowers, the jury’s still out, but Tina wouldn’t have sweated it, so neither will I.

.

.

.

.

