InsecureWritersSupportGroup-1

The Purpose of IWSG is to share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

To join IWSG visit Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh here.

_________________________

.

I usually take the support side when writing these posts, but for the next few IWSG Wednesdays, my plan is to square off from the insecure side of the court.

When I first started writing, there was only one accepted path to publication, so choosing the right road was easy:

Query ➡ Agent ➡ Traditional Publishing

 

I’m sure you’re all aware of the changes in publishing over the past few years. There are now many options open to writers, ranging from indie and hybrid paths all the way through to traditional.

Julie Faulk/Flickrcc

Julie Faulk/Flickrcc

My personal goal is to sample from the many alternatives. Maybe I’ll find the hybrid path is the right road for me, or perhaps I’ll discover I enjoy having control over my own work and go all-indie.

My first traditionally published novel will be out in June of 2015, but it will be print-only. I retained the digital rights, which I think is a bit unusual and why I mention it here.

The problem with having so many roads to publication is that choices must be made, and where there is choice, there is doubt. Was it smart to accept less advance and retain the digital rights for my book? Toward the beginning of next year, I plan to self-publish a volume of short stories. At the last minute, I omitted one of the tales so it could be traditionally published in another anthology—the hope being that the traditionally published volume will have a wider audience. Was this the right move?

More importantly, is there such a thing as a right move, and how will I know when and if I’ve made it?

My insecurity lies not in the many new roads to publishing but in the decisions I’m now forced to make in choosing the right path for me. How do I not second-guess myself, not worry that I’ve misstepped? How do I not end up regretting the choices I’ve made?

Certainly, I’ve made my decisions with the best of intentions, but I can’t forget what they say about the road to hell…

