Don’t know about you, but I’ve found reading to be a great way to procrastinate. In fact, I procrastinated myself right out of this week’s blog post, which left me only one option: to discuss books.

So far this July I’ve read:

    • Perfect Match Jodi Picoult (women’s fiction)
    • The Chaperone Laura Moriarty (historical fiction)
    • The Camelot Caper by Elizabeth Peters (caper mystery)
    • The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams (YA)
    • Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger (period mystery)
    • The Devil’s Feather by Minette Walters (psychological thriller)
    • Conversion by Katherine Howe (YA)
    • The Cruelest Month by Louise Penny (cozy series mystery)

This is an unusual lineup for me because most of the authors and protagonists are female. Plus, I read three mysteries—that’s practically a year’s worth.

At present, I’m reading

    • Drood by Dan Simmons (horror/historical fiction) and listening to a book I’ve already read, The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (adult fairy tale)

Of the eight books I finished, several were quite good, but Ordinary Grace, this year’s winner of the Edgar for best mystery novel, is the one I’d recommend. Eek, the only one of the eight written by a man. Sorry, that’s how it goes sometimes. Part mystery and part coming of age story, it’s a beautifully crafted tale of family, love, loss, and growing up. After reading this stand alone, will I run out and buy William Kent Krueger’s Cork O’Connor series? Alas, no. That is a mistake I’ve made too many times in the past. A mystery series is still a series, and the surprises just aren’t there for me. But if Mr. Krueger ever again ventures out of the formula mystery market, I’ll be first in line to open my wallet.

15803059

 

 Let’s talk books!
What are you reading right now?
Any recommendations?

.

.

.

