First a clarification. This blog is NOT intended for purposes of self-promotion or branding (you will find an excellent article on branding here), but rather as a way for me to connect with other writers. Of course I welcome readers, but the thrust of this page is process not output. One day I will have a blog for promotion—this isn’t it.

Now that we have that out of the way, let’s talk about writing. In fact, let’s talk about what we LOVE about writing!

Damian Gadal/Flickrcc

Damian Gadal/Flickrcc

.

THE FIVE THINGS I LOVE MOST ABOUT WRITING

1⃣

EXPRESSION. My views deserve better than what my clumsy tongue and slow mind can deliver. When writing, I am free to explore philosophies and ideas and use them to flesh out characters and storylines. Suddenly, my point of view is expressed as something more than a dry intellectual argument.

2⃣

ESCAPE. I relish the opportunity to disappear into a world of my own creation. Everyone fantasizes. Writers have the privilege of choosing which fantasy to live out in words. Fiction is not constrained by reality’s bounds.

mwedwards815/flickrcc

mwedwards815/flickrcc

3⃣

RESEARCH. I was born with the research gene. I’m curious about everything, and research is my favorite part of process. All three of my novels revolve around subjects I wanted to know more about. What spurred the research for my first novel? A 2002 article in The Guardian titled “Flirting with Hitler.”

4⃣

PSYCHOLOGY. It’s fascinating to probe my characters’ psyches, to understand why they do the things they do, why they make the choices they make. It’s like poking human nature with a stick.

5⃣

WORDS. Writing is a lingual Rubik’s cube. Instead of colors, the writer must shift, twist, and realign words until he or she solves the puzzle of how best to tell their story. There are only 26 letters in the alphabet. Stop and think for a moment how many words and stories have been generated from those few letters and be awed.

yksin/flickrcc

yksin/flickrcc

.

What do you love most about writing?

.

.

.

