It’s been a busy week, and I needed a pick-me-up, so I decided to reread a book that always makes me smile: A Dog’s Life by Peter Mayle. It worked. I’m still laughing. And for that reason alone, it deserves a feature spot on Read it! If you love dogs and/or France, this is a must read. My favorite chapter? “Mano a Mano with the Cat in the Garage.” As a dog AND cat owner, the title alone makes me giggle.

What’s it about?
Peter Mayle is best known for his books detailing life in Provence. Consider A Dog’s Life a variation on that theme—a dog’s life in Provence, if you will. The protagonist is Boy, one of a litter of thirteen pups who, after failing to prove himself as a hunting dog, is adopted by the Mayles (“the Management Team”). This is Boy’s tail, uh tale.
Why read it?
Because it is an absolute pleasure. While written from a four-legged perspective, Boy’s insights into human nature are unerring. He sees us for what we are, sometimes generous and kind, other times selfish and hypocritical. But Boy remains steadfast and loyal, forgiving us our foibles and focusing on the good. His is an example we can all learn from.

Oh, and Edward Koren’s drawings are marvelous!

