survivor_[2013]

✥✥✥✥✥

THE CHALLENGE
Kicked that sucker’s sorry alphabetic ass! Oops, got carried away . . . um, how about this instead? Best Challenge ever! Yes, let’s go with that. ……

 BEST CHALLENGE EVER!

..

AND THE BEST OF THE BEST
Discovering a slew of new-to-me awesome bloggers with incredible blogs.

THE ROAD TO HELL . . .
I’d intended to visit every participating blog at least once, but with bilious WiFi and a few other unexpected snafus throwing spanners into the works, it never happened. No regrets. I quickly learned quantity of blog visits wasn’t nearly as rewarding as quality of interaction.

IGNORANCE IS BLISS
Back to the aforementioned technical hurdle. Had I known at the outset WiFi issues would plague me throughout the month, I probably would have dropped out of the Challenge before it began. But as Rick Riordan wrote in THE LIGHTNING THIEF, “Knowing too much of your future is never a good thing.” I am SO glad I muddled through!

IMPORTANT LESSON LEARNED
One should be careful when merging A-to-Z themes. I thought combining Wiccan terminology with excerpts from my early draft WIP was brilliantly clever. Uh uh. Since the book isn’t actually about Wicca, my choice of Wiccan terms was meagre and the selection of appropriate manuscript snippets even more limited. Should have focused on either Wicca or on the story, not both.

THE FUTURE
This may be my final A-to-Z. Something harrowing always seems to happen before and/or during the Challenge. I’m convinced if I participate again, I’ll spend the month waiting for the other shoe to drop. [Warning: This post is brimming with clichés. Remember to avoid these at all cost in your own writing.] If I do participate next year, my theme will be How to Write Sex Scenes.

FINAL  JUDGEMENT?

So!  Much!  Fun!

……

BOUNDLESS THANKS to A-to-Z Challenge founder, ARLEE BIRD, and the entire A-to-Z Challenge staff. Your commitment, enthusiasm, and dedication are so, so appreciated. You are beyond Amazing!

……

…✥

How about you?

Participating in next year’s A-to-Z, or is it too soon to ask?

