TODAY’S THE DAY!

NINJA CAPTAIN ALEX’S
Top Ten Movie Countdown Blogfest

Where loyal followers list
their top ten favorite movies!

Click on the badge to sign up or to visit other participants!

TOPTENMOVIE-1

As with books, there are many great films. I found it impossible to choose only ten—I had to find a way to narrow the field.

Because I rarely re-read books, dislike television repeats, and seldom view a movie more than once, it occurred to me it might be interesting to focus on films I’ve felt compelled, for one reason or another, to watch many, many times. Et Voila! A basis for my list. So, darlings, without further ado, my top ten:

I WOULD LIKE, IF I MAY, TO TAKE YOU ON A STRANGE JOURNEY. . .

10.  Mary Poppins 
“A magic nanny comes to work for a cold banker’s unhappy family.” ***
     Was it wrong for me to want a Nanny Poppins of my own? I wouldn’t have minded growing up in the Banks’s house at #17 Cherry Tree Lane, London, either.

9.  A Christmas Carol aka Scrooge (The one with Alastair Sim):
“An old bitter miser is given a chance for redemption when he is haunted by ghosts on Christmas Eve.”
     A Wonderful Life is for wimps. This remains my favorite holiday movie. Talk about your character arcs! Dickens had it goin’ it on, and this film captures the heart of Chuck’s story.

8.  A Clockwork Orange
“In future Britain, charismatic delinquent Alex DeLarge is jailed and volunteers for an experimental aversion therapy developed by the government in an effort to solve society’s crime problem… but not all goes to plan.”
     The first time I watched A Clockwork Orange, the graphic violence horrified me. I couldn’t imagine ever watching it again, but I have—more than once. Free will, behavior modification, the potential for political use of psychological manipulation—heady stuff. Plus, a great soundtrack. This is a favorite tune. What, you were expecting Beethoven or Rossini?

7.  Pan’s Labyrinth
“In the fascist Spain of 1944, Ofelia, the bookish young stepdaughter of a sadistic army officer escapes into an eerie but captivating fantasy world.”
     Fabulous Guillermo del Toro flick. The classic battle between good and evil captured in an adult fairytale. I was certain I would hate this film, but as fantasy and reality began to meld, the story held me captive. Each time I watch Pan’s Labyrinth I find something new to appreciate.

6.  The Shawshank Redemption
Two imprisoned men bond over a number of years, finding solace and eventual redemption through acts of common decency.”
     A brilliant film about the strength of the human spirit and the power of abiding friendship. I loved this movie, loved it so much I’ve always been afraid to read King’s novella for fear the book wouldn’t stand up to the movie. That’s something you don’t hear too often.

5.  Young Frankenstein
“Dr. Frankenstein’s grandson, after years of living down the family reputation, inherits granddad’s castle and repeats the experiments.”
     The classic spoof of the classic horror flick. Never ceases to make me laugh.

4.  Chocolat
 “A woman and her daughter open a chocolate shop in a small French village that shakes up the rigid morality of the community.”
     France, Johnny Depp, Chocolate, and an awesome soundtrack that includes Django’s “Minor Swing,” what’s not to love? I never read Joanne Harris’s book. It didn’t have Django or Depp, so why bother?


3.  The Birds
“A wealthy San Francisco socialite pursues a potential boyfriend to a small Northern California town that slowly takes a turn for the bizarre when birds of all kinds suddenly begin to attack people there in increasing numbers and with increasing viciousness.”
     Scary! Although Daphne Du Maurier set her short story in Cornwall, Hitchcock filmed in Bodega Bay. To this day I can’t visit Bodega Bay without a furtive glance at the sky.

2.  To Kill a Mockingbird
“Atticus Finch, a lawyer in the Depression-era South, defends a black man against an undeserved rape charge, and his kids against prejudice.”
     While there’s no way it could equal Harper Lee’s book, this is a damn good movie.

It’s astounding,
time is fleeting,

madness takes its toll…
and that brings us to
#1

1.   Rocky Horror Picture Show
“A newly engaged couple have a breakdown in an isolated area and must pay a call to the bizarre residence of Dr. Frank-N-Furter.”
     I’d post a pic of me dressed and ready to head to a midnight showing of RHPS, but I’m afraid my college roommate (also pictured) might sue. Guess you’ll have to settle for this.


_________



HOW ABOUT YOU?
ARE YOU PARTICIPATING IN THE BLOGFEST?
WHAT’S IN YOUR TOP TEN?

***Less than stellar film synopses courtesy of IMDB.
